navigate
index
archives
profile
design
host
Holiday: Day One
4:26 pm & 31.08.02

This is my holiday diary, typed up when I got back :)

As we couldn't get into the bungalow (its a timeshare deal) until after 4.30pm, we (Mum, Dad and myself) left here at 3.15pm. It only took an hour and fifteen minutes to get there. Typically, our place wasn't ready, so we were forced to have a drink and some chocolate cake. At 5pm we were told that the bungalow would be ready at 5.15pm. At 5.45pm Nan and Uncle David turned up and we finally got in at 6.00pm. Apparently there had been a problem with one of the showers.

We had tea before unpacking and then investigated some more of the site. There were two swimming pools, a gym, health spa, tennis courts etc...we followed that up by watching The Mask of Zorro before bed.

Around about 4.00am I was woken up by Nan (we shared a room) dashing out to Mum and Dad's room. Then I heard Uncle David groaning. He is diabetic and was having a bad turn. It took quite a while before Mum could get him to eat enough to get his sugar level back up to "normal" as his legs were starting to cramp on top of him flushing hot and cold. He was alright by 4.30am, but Mum and Nan weren't, so I made a cup of tea and calmed them down. Its been a long time since he had had a bad turn at night, and there are cases where the person doesn't wake up from it. I'm not very helpful in situations like that. I would like to think I would be able to cope with it if I was on my own with the person, but as there has always been Mum, Nan or Dad to take charge, I really don't know. I do know what to do, its just a case of doing it. Hmm...

last & next