navigate
index
archives
profile
design
host
the end of the line
7:30 pm & 27.09.02

Today started off with some good news. I have an interview. Next Wednesday at 3pm. Can you believe it? After my rant about the lack of acknowledgment yesterday as well!!! Its for a permenant part-time admin job, the wage isn't too bad and too make it even better, its in town. I'm not going to say anymore as I haven't even had the interview yet.
I'd already typed up four other job applications before Vicky at the employment agency rang to tell me about the interview. I think people are leaving/changing work now the summer holidays are over with. Two of the vacancies are in town and the other two are in Shrewsbury. I posted them off anyway, better to be safe then sorry.

About half an hour after I got home Nan phoned. Mum took the call and was gone for quite some time. When she came back she looked awful. It turned out that Uncle David took Blazer, his oldest Jack Russell, to the vets this morning and when he went to see how she was after work, they said there was nothing they could do. Blazer has been through two operations to prevent internal bleeding and it seemed as if she was on the mend, but yesterday she started to bleed again. He had told Nan that if another operation wasn't an option, he wouldn't let her suffer anymore.

We didn't find out that he was taking her until this morning and Nan only told us half the story, so to know that Blazer is no longer with us still hasn't sunk in properly.
She has been here all my life. We had her brother, Tod, until he was eight. He had a bad heart and died within a week of being diagnosed.
What makes it even more heartbreaking is the fact that she was the end of that family line as she was unable to have puppies. The line started with Toby in about 1979, Strider and Lively were from her first litter in 1981 (a year before me). In 1985 Lively had Saint and Star, and it was Star who then had Blazer and Tod in 1988.

Strider was technically the first baby of our family. He looked after Rob and I, I don't think he ever left our sides, and had more of a personality then many people. Tod was just adorable. He was a very laid back kinda dog!

I have to go and get something to eat now.

last & next