navigate
index
archives
profile
design
host
101 Facts
&

I know that its not very original, but I am going to do a 101 Facts thingy. I will be doing it in stages (mainly because I normally get fed up half way through or run out of ideas <--- maybe that should be #one?) adding to it as things come to mind.

* * * * *

001. I have worn glasses since I was five as I have astigmatism (basically the lenses in my eyes are the wrong shape, which makes everything just ever so slightly blurry).

002. I do not have any piercings. I keep forgetting to get around to it.

003. I have one younger brother, by two years.

004. I was born five weeks early and weighed 4 pounds 10 ounces (I don't know what that is in metric).

005. Talking of metric, I hardly use it, apart from centimetres. I weigh everything in pounds and ounces and can never convert to grams/kilos. I think in feet and yards. My parents are to blame for this *hehe*

006. I am single and not looking (at the moment).

007. I don't remember learning to read, I have just always been able to. Apparently Mum started to teach me the alphabet at eighteen months.

008. I read a lot, always have. As a child I loved nothing more then spending the day in the library with my Grandad and brother.

009. I am short (5'2") and slim. I can't put a weight down as I haven't weighed myself for a couple of years, and only then it was done just before an operation. I think I was 6 1/2 stone. I have put on some weight since then.

010. That operation was only small. My jaw hadn't developed properly, which was causing migraines due to the pressure being in the wrong places. I was in and out of hospital within 5 days, they didn't need to use wires and I soon managed to get back to normal. I was a big wuss about the whole thing though. If it wasn't the thought of it taking me months to recover instead of a few weeks if I had left it until I was older, I wouldn't have had it done.

012. To me, the thought of being pregnent is quite horrible (thats me putting it lightly). I do not want children. I will not change my mind when "I have met the right man". I would be a hopeless mother. I am not maternal, I do not get broody or coo over babies.

013. I have long fingers. The nails on my thumb and index fingers break very easily, whereas the others don't.

014. I have a very silly sense of humour.

015. I like sarcasm when it is done properly...although I am still unsure whether I can class myself as being able to do so.

016. I am right handed.

017. I prefer to wear boots to shoes. I have three pairs of boots and only one pair of shoes. They are all black, slim with two inch heels.

018. I have only worn a dress once this year, I can't recall wearing a skirt.

019. I don't have much need to wear a bra but I feel slightly odd when I don't.

020. I like sleeping.

021. I can daydream but still carry on with what I supposed to be doing (as long as it doens't require 110% of my concentration).

022. When I want to wrap a present up so that it looks lovely and pretty, it will go very wrong and look like the dog did it. When I don't care how it looks it will end up looking perfect. I can not pretend that I don't care about wrapping something. I have tried.

023. I feel the cold easily.

024. I have become addicted to the milk chocolate chunky KitKits.

025. I want to learn to speak German properly and plan to start doing so next year <--- as close to a resolution as I get.

026. I have never tried a cigerette.

027. I like to be up and about at night.

028. I can't drive as I haven't started to learn yet. I'll warn you when I do :P.

029. My parents have been married for twenty-seven years. I have wondered how they have managed this. I think they have as well.

030. I don't have a religion. I don't really believe that there is a god either, I haven't ruled it out, but it doesn't seem very logical to me.

031. I have never broken a bone in my body (unless you count the aforementioned operation, and that was done for me) but I don't do much which would result in a plastercast to be honest.

032. I am a homebody. I enjoy being at home with everyone or by myself.

033. A frog jumped up my skirt when I was about eight.

034. I do believe in star signs, I think they are very important, but I don't rule my life by them. Other influences need to be taken into account.

035. I am a Capricorn.

036. I would like the Capricorn symbol as a tattoo on my hip/thigh of my right leg, but as I avoid pain as much as possible, I don't see this happening anytime soon.

037. I do not have any immediate cousins as my Dad is an only child and my Uncle did not marry. I have quite a few second and third cousins, all over the age of forty.

038. This is the only diary I have managed to keep going for so long. As it involves the computer and the internet, I'm not surprised.

039. I normally see the negative side of things before the positive but I do not look for things to be depressing.

040. The glass is half empty if I like the contents and half full when I don't <--- what was I saying about negativity?! *lol*

041. I talk a lot. I also talk quite quickly and sometimes need to be told to slow down.

042. Saying that, I can sit and listen for as long as necessary. I don't like to interupt, its rude.

043. I watch a lot of films and love all types, but I have to be very bored to watch 'chick flicks'. I like foreign films, especially if they are from Hong Kong/China and Germany, I prefer them to be subtitled then dubbed.

044. I hate it when people throw up in a film (the actors not the viewers, but I would imagine that would be worse) as its just not necessary and it puts me off whatever I am eating :(

045. When I am concentrating on something I often talk to myself.

046. I have only been in a plane twice. Once on the way to Jersey (the Channel Island) and once back.

047. My bedroom is normally a mess. If its tidy on the outside, the cupboards must be in a right state!! I tidy the rest of the house up though...I don't enjoy it...but I do it.

048. I was named after my Great Grandmother Alice, but Mum decided that was too old fashioned for me and chose Alison instead.

049. My middle name is Louise :)

050. According to a book about names we have; Alison means " 'truthful warrior maiden' and originated from a French form of a combination of Alice and Louise in the 13th Century".

051. I started to suffer from hayfever about two summers ago.

052. I prefer odd numbers to even (she says as she gets to an even fact).

053. I wear my watch with the face under my wrist.

054. On the rare occasions I am not wearing my Capricorn pendant, I have to have it with me somehow.

055. My favourite teddy bear is acutally a dog, his name is Sam and I have had him since I was about three months old (we share the same birthday).

056. I don't like to be the centre of attention.

057. It is only in the last year that I have been able to voice my opinion without getting embarrassed. Afterall, mine is as good as everyone else's.

058. I believe that there is a gay gene and that it is probably passed down by the mother.

059. I worry about what will happen if this gene is ever located by the scientists looking for it.

060. I don't like coffee.

061. I have milk and two sugars in my tea.

062. I laugh at my own jokes. I guess someone has to.

063. If I want to remember something I have to write it down, although nine times out of ten, I won't need to refer to my note in the end.

064. I have problems swallowing tablets, I think I am too busy convincing myself I'm going to choke.

065. I have always looked a couple of years younger then I actually am. I figure this will be a good thing when I am fifty.

066. I can't swim very well, in fact, I'm not sure if you can call what I do 'swimming'.

067. I have a thing for men who wear eye make up and/or nail polish.

068. I can do audio transcription.

069. Shorthand confused the hell out of me.

070. I used to call Strider (our Jack Russell) "Judy" when I was a toddler. Nobody can work out why.

071. If England are not in an event, I support Australia.

072. I hate peas.

073. I have a mobile phone but hardly use it.

074. My Nan came through to me in a dream once, the first and only time something like that has happened to me.

075. Mum and I often quote films (sometimes programmes) or do little bits from them and confuse whoever is with us at the time.

...to be continued...

last & next