navigate
index
archives
profile
design
host
starting early [w/photos]
8:54 pm & 19.01.03

Today has been a great day...not what I was expecting at all :) This will be long.

I was instructed not to have a lay in (or if I did, not for long) as we were going out for lunch. That was expected, as we always go out for lunch on the Sunday closest to a birthday :) So I got up at 9.30am, only to be told to "get a move on". Hmmm. Anyway, I did as I Mum wanted only to be sat waiting for goodness knows how long. This did not impress me as, although I was exhausted Saturday night, I had not slept properly and could have slept until noon quite happily. Then Dad came back (I hadn't actually realised he had gone out) with Rob and Matt *insert huge grin here* The day got better from then on. Nan and Uncle David arrived just after 11am and then we headed off for lunch. We normally go to a lovely pub about ten minutes away, so I was a bit puzzled to find us leaving so soon. Of course, we didn't go there. We went to another lovely pub further out of town.
We sat down for some drinks (I'm sure the guy behind the bar questioned if I was old enough, as he looked shocked at being told I was about to turn 21 let alone 18!) and then went through for the most gorgeous meal :) I ate too much. Couldn't move for a while. Halfway through Rob and Dad went out to the car. They came back with a wine-bottled-shaped present, which turned out to be a fizzy wine as Matt had got confused and got that instead of champagne *g* We forgave him as this was after working the night-shift. Rob and Matt then went for a game of pool and I followed. I am hopeless normally, but I actually pocketed a couple and the white ball stayed on the table!! I was also given some tips by two boys who could have only been about six.

When we got back home we sat down for a cup of tea and a chat. Rob wanted to check his emails and Matt was fiddling with Dad's new camera. After a while Nan, Mum and Uncle David disappeared...I thought they were in the garden looking at the shrub Tyler has ruined...when they came back I was ushered through to the dining room and ordered to close my eyes. When I opened them there was a beautiful birthday cake on the table with "Congratulations on your 21st Birthday Alison" in maticulous icing and 21 candles :) I checked with Mum to make sure that she realised that my birthday is tomorrow, she replied that "Rob and Matt won't be here then". I had to wait for Dad to take a photo before I could blow the candles out and cut the cake. It was chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate. Heaven.

the cake

I thought it was about time you saw me :P

More photos where taken and then Rob gave me my present from him and Matt...a cuddley tiger (who needs a name) and Stitch #4 perfume all in a large pink bag with feathery handles :) Then Uncle David told me that he may be working all day tomorrow and may not see me, and so he gave me his present as well. A silver and gold Seiko Quartz watch. It is lovely and slim, with a small face, Roman numerals and the date. I need to have the strap adjusted as I have very slim wrists, I will do that tomorrow.

It was then that we realised that Tyler was nowhere to be seen. We looked everywhere. Then Dad saw that the front door was open a little bit. We went outside and he walked passed us and around the corner (still in the garden though). Mum went after him and thankfully he came back after a couple of calls. After a short discussion we came to the conclusion that he can now open doors. We had left it unlocked, but not open.

Nan and Uncle David went home soon after that. Rob and Matt stayed for another drink and then Dad drove them home. Now I am waiting to see if my sweetie will come online while talking to my other sweeties Val and Brandi.

I don't want to go to work tomorrow. Its annoying to have to go in for just a couple of hours. But I will be going into the PDSA afterwards, so its not too bad.

I don't feel as if I will be 21 tomorrow. But as I never feel whatever age I am about to turn, thats not a surprise.

last & next